NASCAR All-Star Race and All-Star Open

Date: May 22, 2022
Event: NASCAR All-Star Race and All-Star Open (non-points events)
Series: NASCAR Cup Series
Location: Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth (1.5-mile oval)

NASCAR All-Star Race (125 laps, broken into four stages (25 laps/25 laps/25 laps/50 laps):
● Race Winner: Ryan Blaney of Team Penske (Ford)
● Stage 1 Winner: Kyle Busch of Joe Gibbs Racing (Toyota)
● Stage 2 Winner: Austin Cindric of Team Penske (Ford)
● Stage 3 Winner: Ryan Blaney of Team Penske (Ford)

Note I: Race extended beyond its scheduled 125-lap distance due to a green-white-checkered finish.

Note II: The All-Star Race was comprised of drivers who won a points-paying race in 2021 or 2022, fulltime drivers who have previously won the All-Star Race, fulltime drivers who have won a NASCAR Cup Series championship, and drivers who advanced from the All-Star Open.


SHR Finish in NASCAR All-Star Race:
● Aric Almirola (Started 8th, Finished 12th / Running, completed 140 of 140 laps)


All-Star Open (50 laps, broken into three stages (20 laps/20 laps/10 laps):

● Race Winner: Daniel Suárez of Trackhouse Racing (Chevrolet)
● Stage 1 Winner: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., of JTG Daugherty Racing (Chevrolet)
● Stage 2 Winner: Chris Buescher of RFK Racing (Ford)
● Fan Vote Winner: Erik Jones of Petty GMS (Chevrolet)

Note: The All-Star Open was the undercard event to the All-Star Race, where non-qualified drivers attempted to race their way into the All-Star Race by winning any one of the race’s three stages or by winning the fan vote.

SHR Notes:
● Harvick has made an appearance in every single All-Star Race in his 22-year career, the most of any active NASCAR Cup Series driver.
● This was Briscoe’s first All-Star Race.

Race Notes:
● Ryan Blaney won the All-Star Race with a .266 of a second margin over runner-up Denny Hamlin.
● This was Ford’s 13th win in the All-Star Race. Its 12th win came via Harvick in the 2018 All-Star Race.
● The All-Star Race featured four lead changes among four drivers – Blaney, Kyle Busch, Austin Cindric and William Byron.
● Twenty-four drivers comprised the 38th running of the All-Star Race.

Next Up:
The NASCAR Cup Series returns to points-paying racing on Sunday, May 29 with the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte (N.C.) Motor Speedway. The race gets underway at 6 p.m. EDT with live coverage provided by FOX and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.